Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Jonathan Swain presents a concert given by the Kroger String Quartet with mezzo Andrea Pellegrini featuring works by Respighi, Gade, Schubert and Langgaard.

12:31 AM
Respighi, Ottorino [1879-1936]
Il Tramonto - poemetto lirico vers. for voice and string quartet
Andrea Pellegrini (mezzo-soprano), Kroger Quartet

12:48 AM
Gade, Niels Wilhelm [1817-1890]
Quartet in D major Op.63 for strings
Kroger Quartet

1:12 AM
Langgaard, Rued [1883-1952]
I Blomstringstiden for mezzo-soprano & string quartet, BVN 136
Andrea Pellegrini (mezzo-soprano), Kroger Quartet

1:23 AM
Schubert, Franz [1797-1828]
Quartet in E flat major D.87 for strings
Kroger Quartet

1:46 AM
Langgaard, Rued [1883-1952]
Lenaustemninger, BVN.138 for mezzo-soprano and string quartet
Andrea Pellegrini (mezzo-soprano), Kroger Quartet

1:59 AM
Vivaldi, Antonio [1678-1741]
Armata face et anguibus (from Juditha triumphans devicta Holofernes barbarie)
Andrea Pellegrini (mezzo-soprano), Kroger Quartet

2:03 AM
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich [1840-1893]
Hamlet - fantasy overture Op.67
BBC Philharmonic, Vassily Sinaisky (conductor)

2:21 AM
Mendelssohn, Felix [1809-1847]
3 Studies Op.104b for piano
Sylviane Deferne (piano)

2:31 AM
Pokorny, Frantisek Xaver [(1729-1794)]
Concerto for Horn, Timpani and Strings in D major
Radek Baborak (horn), Prague Chamber Orchestra, Antonín Hradil (conductor)

2:47 AM
Kolarov, Milko [b1946]
Why is the Spout Dripping?
Bulgarian National Radio Children's Choir, Hristo Nedyalkov (conductor), Iva Vaglenova (piano)

2:51 AM
Khachaturian, Aram Ilyich [1903-1978]
Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia from the ballet 'Spartacus' (Act 3)
NRCU Symphony Orchestra, Vyacheslav Blinov (conductor)

3:01 AM
Haydn, Joseph [1732-1809]
Sonata for piano (H.16.34) in E minor
Ingrid Fliter (piano)

3:11 AM
Hammerschmidt, Andreas [1611/12-1675]
Suite in D minor for gambas - from the collection "Ester Fleiss"
Hesperion XX, Jordi Savall (director)

3:27 AM
Salzedo, Carlos [1885-1961]
Tango from 2 Dances for 2 Harps
Julia Shaw, Nora Bumanis (harps)

3:30 AM
Glinka, Mikhail Ivanovich [1804-1857]
Overture from Ruslan and Lyudmila
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Vladimir Jurowski (conductor)

3:35 AM
Schutz, Heinrich [1585-1672]
Feritevi, ferite, viperette mordaci SWV.9 for 5 voices
The Consort of Musicke, Anthony Rooley (conductor)

3:38 AM
Boieldieu, Francois-Adrien [1775-1834]
Aria: Viens, gentille dame from La Dame blanche
Mark Dubois (tenor), Kitchener Waterloo Symphony Orchestra, Raffi Armenian (conductor)

3:46 AM
Kleynjans, Francis [b.1951]
Hommage a Satie
Heiki Mätlik (guitar)

3:49 AM
Mendelssohn, Felix [1809-1847]
Hebrides - overture (Op.26)
Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Markus Lehtinen (conductor)

4:00 AM
Grunfeld, Alfred [1852-1924]
Soirees de Vienne for piano, Op.56
Benjamin Grosvenor (piano)

4:06 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus [1756-1791]
Rondo concertante for violin and orchestra (K.269) in B flat major
Benjamin Schmid (violin), Danish Radio Concert Orchestra, Adam Fischer (conductor)

4:13 AM
Purcell, Henry [1659-1695]
If music be the food of love (Z.379)
Kari Postma (soprano), Hans Knut Sveen (harpsichord)

4:17 AM
Copland, Aaron [1900-1990]
El Salon Mexico for orchestra
San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, Michael Tilson Thomas (conductor)

4:31 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van [1770 -1827]
Die Geschopfe des Prometheus (Op. 43)
Slovenian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, Gunter Pichler (conductor)

4:36 AM
Haydn, Joseph [1732-1809]
My mother bids me bind my hair (H.26a.27) from 6 Original canzonettas
Elizabeth Watts (soprano), Mahan Esfahani (fortepiano)

4:41 AM
Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario [1895-1968]
Capriccio diabolico for guitar (Op.85)
Goran Listes (guitar)

4:50 AM
Vivaldi, Antonio [1678-1741]
Concerto da Camera in D major (RV.94)
Camerata Köln

5:02 AM
Dvorak, Antonin [1841-1904]
Piano Quintet No 2 in A, Op 81
Janine Jansen (violin), Anders Nilsson (violin), Julian Rachlin (viola), Torleif Theden (cello), Itamar Golan (piano)

5:42 AM
Suk, Josef [1874-1935]
A Winter's tale, Op.9
Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, Rudolf Vasata (conductor)

5:58 AM
La Rue, Pierre de [c.1460-1518]
O salutaris hostia - motet
Netherlands Chamber Choir, Paul van Nevel (conductor)

6:02 AM
Faure, Gabriel [1845-1924]
Nocturne No.1 in E flat minor (Op.33 No.1)
Jean-Yves Thibaudet (piano)

6:11 AM
Ravel, Maurice [1875-1937]
Ma mere l'oye - suite vers. for orchestra
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Michel Plasson (conductor).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Thu 22 Mar 2012 00:30