Great British Symphonies: Tippett's Symphony No 4
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Manchester Camerata - Tchaikovsky, Mendelssohn, Strauss

Live from Penrith Methodist Church

Presented by Stuart Flinders

Gabor Takacs-Nagy conducts Manchester Camerata in Tchaikovsky's "Souvenir de Florence", Richard Strauss' "Metamorphosen" and Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto in D minor. A visit to the Italian city of Florence in 1890 inspired Tchaikovsky to write his string sextet "Souvenir de Florence" which is performed tonight in its version for full string orchestra. The thirteen year-old Mendelssohn composed his Violin Concerto in D minor for his beloved teacher and friend Eduard Rietz but the work completely disappeared from the concert platform until 1952 when Yehudi Menuhin resurrected it in a performance at New York's Carnegie Hall. Richard Strauss's "Metamorphosen" - a study for 23 solo strings is subtitled "In memoriam". It's one of Strauss's last works, written during the closing months of the Second World War and dedicated to the Swiss impresario and conductor Paul Sacher.

Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Florence
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in D minor Music

8.25 Music Interval

R. Strauss: Metamorphosen

Giovanni Guzzo (violin)
Manchester Camerata
Gabor Takacs-Nagy (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 19 Mar 2012 19:30
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss