Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Susan Sharpe introduces recordings from the BBC Symphony Orchestra including Paul Lewis playing Beethoven Piano Concerto no. 3.

12:31 AM
Fucik, Julius (1872-1916)
Entry of the Gladiators
BBC Symphony Orchestra, Jiri Belohlávek (conductor)

12:34 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827)
Concerto for piano and orchestra no. 3 (Op.37) in C minor;
Paul Lewis (piano), BBC Symphony Orchestra, Jiri Belohlávek (conductor)

1:10 AM
Martinu, Bohuslav (1890-1959)
Symphony no. 1
BBC Symphony Orchestra, Jiri Belohlávek (conductor)

1:48 AM
Chausson, Ernest (1855-1899)
Concerto in D major for violin, piano and string quartet (Op.21)
Kjell Lysell (solo violin), Bengt Åke-Lundin (solo piano), Yggdrasil String Quartet

2:31 AM
Elgar, Edward (1857-1934)
Variations on an original theme (Enigma) (Op.36)
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Sir Neville Marriner (conductor)

3:00 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827)
String Quintet in C major (Op.29)
Yggdrasil String Quartet

3:33 AM
Bach, Johann Christian (1735-1782)
Quintet for flute, oboe, violin, viola & basso continuo (Op.11 No.2) in G major
Les Adieux

3:42 AM
Horst, Anthon van der (1899-1963)
La Nuit (Op.63 No.1)
The Netherlands Chamber Choir, Eric Ericson (conductor)

3:50 AM
Czerny, Carl (1791-1857)
Brilliant polonaise for piano six hands (Op.296)
Kestutis Grybauskas, Vilma Rindzeviciute, Irina Venkus (pianos)

4:04 AM
Larsson, Lars-Erik (1908-1986)
Violin Sonatina (1928)
Arve Tellefsen (violin), Lucia Negro (piano)

4:18 AM
Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957)
Rakastava (Op.14) arr. for string orchestra and percussion
CBC Vancouver Orchestra, Mario Bernardi (conductor)

4:31 AM
Berlioz, Hector (1803-1869)
Overture - Beatrice and Benedict (Op.27)
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Sir Neville Marriner (conductor)

4:39 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Sonata Partita No 10 in C major
Geert Bierling (organ)

4:48 AM
Debussy, Claude (1862-1918)
Premiere rapsodie arr. for clarinet and orchestra
Kari Kriikku (clarinet), Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor)

4:57 AM
Weckmann, Matthias (1616-1674)
Wenn der Herr die Gefangenen zu Zion erlosen wird (Concert for 4 voices, strings & continuo)
Soloists from Rheinsche Kantorei, Musica Alta Ripa, Hermann Max (conductor)

5:06 AM
Westlake, Nigel (b. 1958)
Winter in the Forgotten Valley
Guitar Trek

5:19 AM
Schumann, Robert [1810-1856]
8 Novelletten for piano (Op.21)
Claire Chevaillier (fortepiano)

5:32 AM
Handel, George Friedrich (1685-1759)
Cantata Delirio amoroso ('Da quel giorno fatale', HWV.99)
Monique Zanetti (soprano), Musica Alta Ripa

6:05 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Quintet for piano, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn (K.452) in E flat major
Douglas Boyd (oboe), Hans Christian Bræin (clarinet), Kjell Erik Arnesen (french horn), Per Hannisal (bassoon), Andreas Staier (piano).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Fri 2 Mar 2012 00:30