Playing: Cello Concerto No. 1 by Camille Saint‐Saëns
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Ulster Orchestra - Grieg, MacMillan, Sibelius

Presented by John Toal

From the Ulster Hall.

JoAnn Falletta conducts the Ulster Orchestra in Grieg's Holberg Suite, MacMillan's Veni, Veni, Emmanuel and Sibelius's 5th Symphony.
Grieg's elegant tribute to the Norwegian writer, Ludvig Holberg, opens this concert of music from the North. The final work is Sibelius' powerful and wonderfully evocative Symphony No.5. In between comes the highlight of the night - a 20th anniversary celebration of Scottish composer James MacMillan's percussion spectacular which was premièred at the BBC Proms in 1992

Grieg: Holberg Suite
MacMillan:Veni, Veni, Emmanuel
Sibelius: Symphony No.5

Colin Currie, Percussion
Ulster Orchestra
JoAnn Falletta, Conductor.

2 hours

Last on

Sun 12 Feb 2012 14:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss