Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

London Philharmonic - Martinu, Liszt, Dvorak

Live from the Royal Festival Hall

Martin Handley presents a concert in which Marin Alsop conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a programme where Liszt's first two piano concertos are framed by two Czech masterpieces. But whilst Martinu wrote his vibrant Sixth Symphony with the conductor Charles Munch very much in mind, Dvorak wrote his Eighth Symphony to satisfy nobody but himself. As he remarked, it is 'a work singing of the joy of green pastures, of summer evenings, of the melancholy of blue forests, of the defiant merry-making of the Czech peasants'.

Bohuslav Martinu: Symphony No.6 (Fantaisies symphoniques)
Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No.1 in E flat major

8.15pm Music Interval - a chance to hear some of Bohuslav Martinu's seldom heard choral music

Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No.2 in A major
Antonin Dvorák: Symphony No.8 in G major

Stephen Hough (piano)
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Marin Alsop (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 8 Feb 2012 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.