Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Alexander Melnikov

Live from Wigmore Hall, London.

The Russian pianist Alexander Melnikov plays 3 early works by Brahms including a set of variations on a theme by his friend and mentor, Robert Schumann, who also helped champion his second piano sonata.

Presented by Louise Fryer

BRAHMS:16 Variations on a theme by Robert Schumann Op.9
BRAHMS: Scherzo in E flat minor Op.4
BRAHMS: Sonata no. 2 in F sharp minor Op.2

Alexander Melnikov (piano).

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Sat 11 Feb 2012 14:00