Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Belcea Quartet - Beethoven

Presented by Suzy Klein

The Belcea Quartet plays Beethoven at the Wigmore Hall, including the early Op.18 No 2, Op. 59 No. 2 'Razumovsky' and the great Quartet in C# minor Op. 131.
Building on the achievements of his great predecessors, Beethoven assimilated the achievements of Haydn and Mozart in his Op. 18 string quartets before developing the medium's expressive potential in his Op. 59 'Razumovsky' Quartets. The Belcea Quartet ends their concert with the monumental String Quartet in C# minor Op. 131, described by Donald Tovey as the composer's 'most fantastic and revolutionary' work.

String Quartet in G Op. 18 No. 2
String Quartet in E minor Op. 59 No. 2 'Razumovsky'
String Quartet in C# minor Op. 131

The Belcea Quartet.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 5 Feb 2012 14:00