Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The Book of Complaints

A Dalmatian Trilogy Episode 3 of 3

Episode 3 (of 3): The Book of Complaints by James Hopkin
An Englishman takes refuge from his past life on the island of Korcula, where he meets an extraordinary silhouette cutter and learns about mysterious murmur-maids.

James Hopkin has lived and travelled widely in Europe, including time spent on the Dalmatian islands off the coast of Croatia. These three specially-commissioned stories explore the history and landscape of the area, as well as providing a colourful journey for the senses.

Hopkin gained a First Class honours degree in English and Philosophy in Manchester, then a Distinction in his MA on modern fiction, followed by a British Academy Award for his PhD. In September 2002, he won an Arts Council short story competition with 'Even the Crows Say Krakow'.

His novel Winter Under Water (2007) was an assured and critically-acclaimed debut marking the arrival of a major new writer. He published a small collection of stories in 2008, along with the paperback of Winter Under Water.

James Hopkin's A Georgian Trilogy, also produced by Sweet Talk, was broadcast in 2010.

Reader: Tom Goodman-Hill
Producer: Jeremy Osborne
A Sweet Talk Production for BBC Radio 4.

Release date:

15 minutes

Last on

Mon 4 Jan 2016 21:00

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from A Dalmatian Trilogy