iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : BBC Proms
2014 Season - Prom 61 (part 2): Rachmaninov, Glinka and Zhou Long
Image for CBSO - Rachmaninov, Strauss

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

CBSO - Rachmaninov, Strauss

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 12 January 2012

Late Romantic music by Richard Strauss and Rachmaninov performed by the CBSO conducted by Andris Nelsons, live from Symphony Hall Birmingham, and featuring pianist Stephen Hough playing Rachmaninov's rarely heard First Piano Concerto. The concert is introduced by Petroc Trelawny.

Also on the programme, two monumental symphonic poems by Strauss. His early musical depiction of death and beyond - Tod und Verklärung - and the epic Also Sprach Zaruthustra which is loosely based on the philosophical writings of Nietszche.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss