iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Elisabeth Leonskaja, Artemis Quartet

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Elisabeth Leonskaja, Artemis Quartet

1 hour
First broadcast:
Tuesday 03 January 2012

Every Summer the 250-year-old castle of Schwetzingen, just outside the German city of Heidelberg, plays host to a music festival. The stars of today and, hopefully, tomorrow take part - as they have done since the festival began in 1952.
For this recital the distinguished Russian-born pianist Elisabeth Leonskaja joins the Artemis Quartet for one of the most famous of all chamber works, the Piano Quintet by Brahms.

Elizabeth Leonskaja (piano)
Artemis Quartet

BRAHMS: Piano Quintet in F Minor Op 34.

Music Played

3 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Schwetzingen Festival Highlights (6 of 9)

    • Image for Johannes Brahms

      Johannes Brahms Quintet in F minor Op.34 for piano and strings

      Performer: Elisabeth LEONSKAJA - Piano Performer: Artemis String Quartet

    • Image for Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

      Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Adagio from Sonata in F major K.332 for piano

      Performer: Elisabeth LEONSKAJA - Piano

    • Image for Franz Schubert

      Franz Schubert Impromptu No 3 in G flat major from 4 Impromptus D.899, Op.90 for piano

      Performer: Elisabeth LEONSKAJA - Piano


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss