Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Elisabeth Leonskaja plays three contrasting Beethoven Piano Sonatas as part of LSO St Luke's Beethoven Piano Sonata Series. The recital begin with no.20, one of Beethoven's so-called 'easy' sonatas, written as a teaching piece. This is followed by the intimate and unconventional no.30, before the legendary Sonata no.32 in C minor, brings the recital to a euphoric conclusion.

Beethoven: Sonata no. 20 in G major Op.49'2 for piano
Beethoven: Sonata no. 30 in E major Op.109 for piano
Beethoven: Sonata no. 32 in C minor Op.111 for piano

Elisabeth Leonskaja (piano).

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Thu 30 Aug 2012 13:00