iPlayer Radio What's New?
Dietrich Buxtehude (1637-1707) - 5. Nothing is More Useless Than Old Music
Image for Stravinsky, Ravel

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Stravinsky, Ravel

1 hour
First broadcast:
Thursday 15 December 2011

Live from the Sage, Gateshead

Presented by Catherine Bott

The Northern Sinfonia and conductor Thierry Fischer perform a programme of music from the 20th Century inspired by jazz set alongside on Beethoven's mighty symphonies.

Ravel first heard jazz on a tour of the USA in the early 1920s and his Piano Concerto was written under its intoxicating spell "Jazz is a very rich and vital source of inspiration for modern composers" he said and the concerto fizzes with syncopations and 'blue notes'. Jazz also makes an appearance in the suite from Stravinsky's Soldier's Tale, along with folk, tango and Lutheran Chorales as the story of the soldier being tricked by the devil unfolds. Beethoven's 4th Symphony completes the programme.

Stravinsky: Suite from The Soldier's Tale
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G

Imogen Cooper (piano)
Northern Sinfonia
Thierry Fischer (conductor).


Music and The Great War on BBC Playlister


Explore the story of World War One through the music of the time with BBC Playlister.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss