Playing: Symphony no. 1 (Op.21) in C major by Ludwig van Beethoven
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Live from the Barbican Hall, London

Presented by Martin Handley

Sir Colin Davis leads the LSO on its journey through all of Nielsen's symphonies. In tonight's programme Nielsen is accompanied by Beethoven and Haydn. In the first of his London symphonies, Haydn surprises us with some cheeky bassoon scoring as well as a quotation on the oboe from Mozart's Don Giovanni.

Nielsen's Third symphony is one of his most-performed works. The 'Espansiva' of the title refers to the first movement and to Nielsen's belief that music is made of internal forces that transcend their outer boundaries. As well as lofty ideals, the symphony includes references to the sights and sounds of his childhood and a rousing folk-inflected conclusion.

The powerful, heroic themes of Beethoven's last piano concerto led Beethoven's friend and fellow composer Johann Baptist Cramer to give it the name 'Emperor'.

Beethoven Piano Concerto No 5 in E flat, 'Emperor'

Mitsuko Uchida (piano)
Lucy Hall (soprano)
Marcus Farnsworth (baritone)
London Symphony Orchestra
conductor Colin Davis.

1 hour, 5 minutes

Last on

Tue 13 Dec 2011 20:55
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss