Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The Berliners in Spain

Katie Derham presents The Berliners in Spain: two concerts given recently in Spain by Berlin's two great orchestras. The Berlin Philharmonic is conducted by Sir Simon Rattle at Madrid's Teatro Real and the Berlin Staatskapelle is directed from the keyboard by Daniel Barenboim at the Charles V Palace in Granada in Mozart's most popular piano concerto.

Chabrier: España, rhapsody for orchestra
Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle (conductor)

Joaquin Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez, for guitar and orchestra
Juan Manuel Cañizares (guitar)
Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle (conductor)

J.S. Bach: Der Geist hilft unsrer Schwachheit auf, BWV 226
J.S. Bach: Komm, Jesu, komm, BWV 229
Trinity Baroque
Julian Podger (director)

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 27 in B flat, K. 595
Daniel Barenboim (piano)
Berlin Staatskapelle
Daniel Barenboim (conductor)

Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 2 in E minor, op. 27
Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 9 Dec 2011 14:00