Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

LSO St Luke's Beethoven Piano Sonata Series.

Continuing our recitals containing all 32 of Beethoven's piano sonatas, Llyr Williams (a former Radio 3 New Generation Artist) plays three highly contrasted works. He begins with the young composer stretching his muscles, continues with one of the shortest and least often-heard pieces and ends with a famous sonata that tells a very particular real-life story in music.

Beethoven: Sonata no. 7 in D major Op.10 No.3 for piano
Beethoven: Sonata no. 24 in F sharp major Op.78 for piano
Beethoven: Sonata no. 26 in E flat major Op.81a (Les Adieux) for piano

Llyr Williams (piano).

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Wed 15 Aug 2012 13:00