Image for KullervoNot currently available on BBC iPlayer

Duration: 1 hour, 30 minutes

To accompany the Symphony series, a rare treat from the archives - the youthful, passionate and epic 'Kullervo' Symphony by the great Finnish composer Jean Sibelius, in a classic performance from 1992. Sir Colin Davis, a truly great interpreter of Sibelius's music, conducts the London Symphony Orchestra with soloists soprano Soile Isokoski and baritone Jorma Hynninen. Introduced by Simon Russell Beale.

Last on

Sat 19 Nov 2011 01:00 BBC Four


Simon Russell Beale


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss