iPlayer Radio What's New?

The Art of Monarchy Episode guide

  1. Legacy

    8/8 A look at how the monarchy has dealt with a series of dynastic crises.

    First broadcast: 31 Mar 2012

  2. Empire and Commonwealth

    7/8 Will looks beyond Britain to see the monarchy as a global force.

    First broadcast: 24 Mar 2012

  3. Progress

    6/8 Will explores the relationship the institution of the monarchy has had with change.

    First broadcast: 17 Mar 2012

  4. The People

    5/8 Will Gompertz explores 500 years of British monarchs, through the objects they acquired.

    First broadcast: 10 Mar 2012

  5. Magnificence

    4/8 How the monarchy expresses power with displays of wealth and status.

    First broadcast: 03 Mar 2012

  6. Faith

    3/8 Will explores the monarch's relationship with the church through the centuries.

    First broadcast: 25 Feb 2012

  7. Friend or Foe

    2/8 Will examines items from the Royal Collection that are associated with war.

    First broadcast: 18 Feb 2012

  8. Behind the Royal Image

    1/8 Will begins looks at some of the most personal royal images in the Royal Collection.

    First broadcast: 11 Feb 2012

Copyright © 2014 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss