iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Radio 2 Young Choristers of the Year 2011

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Radio 2 Young Choristers of the Year 2011

1 hour
First broadcast:
Sunday 06 November 2011

Aled Jones hosts the Grand Final of this year's competition from St Martin-in-the-Fields, Trafalgar Square. From the 8 finalists, one girl and one boy are awarded the title BBC Radio 2 Young Chorister of the Year 2011. Special guest Joe McElderry also performs a special duet with the two winners. Chorister judges are church music composer John Rutter, record producer Steve Abbott and chart topping artist and BBC Radio 2 Young Chorister of the Year 2005 Laura Wright.

The finalists are:
Ella Rainbird-Earley, who sings at Coventry Cathedral
Helen Lacey, who sings at St Mary's Church, Lamberhurst, Kent
Katie May Allen who sings at Christ Church, Southgate
Alexis Cooling who sings at Wakefield Cathedral

Laurence Stannard, who sings at Coventry Cathedral and is also a member of the Coventry Blue Coat School Choir
Peter Waters, who is a Quirister at Winchester College
Richard Decker, who sings at The Queen's Chapel of the Savoy
Donal McCann, who sings at St Peter's Cathedral, Belfast

The Radio 2 Young Choristers of the Year 2011 were named as Ella Rainbird-Early and Richard Decker. Each winner received a trophy and lessons with an established singing coach.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss