iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Wagner, Berlioz

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Wagner, Berlioz

45 minutes
First broadcast:
Friday 04 November 2011

Live from the Music Hall, Aberdeen.

Presented by Jamie MacDougall.

The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Principal Guest Conductor, Ilan Volkov, in a thought-provoking programme of contrasts. Wagner's Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde opens the concert. Then the the young Romanian mezzo-soprano Ruxandra Donose joins them for a performance of Berlioz's La Mort de Cleopatre. After the interval, Julian Anderson's short piece Eden looks back hauntingly to an earlier time, with its evocative memories of 16th century viol music; and the concert ends with Sibelius's stirring Second Symphony.

Wagner: Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde.
Berlioz: La Mort de Cleopatre.

Ruxandra Donose (mezzo-soprano),
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Ilan Volkov, conductor.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.