Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Philharmonia Orchestra - Debussy, Bartok

Live from the Royal Festival Hall

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Esa-Pekka Salonen conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in their continuing exploration of the works of Bela Bartok titled 'Infernal Dance'.

Bartok's only opera Duke Bluebeard's Castle is a dark and sinister tale of love and death. The Duke invites his new bride Judith back to his castle where she opens seven doors in turn. Each door reveals a new horror - one a bloody torture chamber, another a garden where blood stains the leaves till finally the seventh door reveals Bluebeard's three former wives, who step forward to receive Judith into their eternal imprisonment.

Debussy: Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 3

8.10 - Interval Music

Bartók: Duke Bluebeard's Castle (semi-staged)

Yefim Bronfman (piano)
Bluebeard - Sir John Tomlinson (bass)
Judith - Michelle DeYoung (soprano)
Philharmonia Orchestra
Esa-Pekka Salonen (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 3 Nov 2011 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.