Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Stravinsky: Concerto in D. Mendelssohn: Capriccio and Fugue

Live from Perth Concert Hall

The Scottish Ensemble, Scotland's premier virtuoso string ensemble join forces with Perth-born pianist Alasdair Beatson at the Perth Concert Hall to perform a contrasting programme of Mendelssohn and Stravinsky. Written when Mendelssohn was only 14 years old, his concerto for violin, piano and strings is a joyful counterpoint to the neo-classical elegance and energy of Stravinsky.

The Scottish Ensemble
Jonathan Morton, Artistic Director, Violin
Alasdair Beatson, Piano

Stravinsky: Concerto in D
Mendelssohn: Capriccio and fugue from Op 81 (arr.Morton)
Stravinsky: Concertino (arr. Morton).

Release date:

40 minutes

Last on

Tue 25 Oct 2011 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.