Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Nicola Benedetti, Alexei Grynyuk

Live from Wigmore Hall in London. Nicola Benedetti has become one of the most well-known and successful of young violinists since her victory at the BBC Young Musician competition in 2004. For this recital, her Wigmore Lunchtime debut, she pairs two giants of 19th century romanticism, coupling Brahms's radiantly lyrical First Sonata with music by Beethoven, whose ten violin sonatas form the crux of the violin virtuoso's chamber repertoire.

Presented by Fiona Talkington

Nicola Benedetti (violin)
Alexei Grynyuk (piano)

Beethoven: Violin Sonata No. 7 in C minor Op. 30 No. 2
Brahms: Violin Sonata No. 1 in G major Op. 78.

Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Sat 15 Oct 2011 14:00