Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Britten Sinfonia at Queen Elizabeth Hall, London

Live from The Queen Elizabeth Hall, London

Presented by Martin Handley

Norwegian violinist Henning Kraggerud leads the Britten Sinfonia in music by Mozart, Piers Tattersall, Berio and Mahler's orchestration of Schubert's Death and the Maiden quartet.

Mozart's sunny concerto is followed by a new work by Piers Tattersall which ruminates on the playing and compositions of violinist Fritz Kreisler - nostalgic and 'cosy' according to Tattersall - as set against the troubled times in which it was written - between the two World Wars. After the interval Berio's Duos in which each movement is named in honour of a friend or fellow musician precedes Schubert's famous late string quartet arranged for string orchestra by fellow composer Mahler.

Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 4 in D, K218
Piers Tattersall: Kreisler, l'entre deux guerres (world première tour)

20.05 Interval Music.

20.25 - Part 2
Berio: Duos for two violins
Schubert arr. Mahler: Death and the Maiden

Britten Sinfonia
Henning Kraggerud violin/director.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 7 Oct 2011 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.