Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Mr Holland returns with the latest series of the BBC2 flagship music show with a typically broad mix of quality artists including Snow Patrol, Emeli Sande, The Duke Spirit, Trombone Shorty, Roy Harper and Little Dragon.

Snow Patrol return to the Later... studio with songs from their sixth studio album Fallen Empires, including current single Called Out in the Dark. Aberdonian-raised singer-songwriter Emeli Sande makes her terrestrial TV debut performing an acoustic version of her smash debut single Heaven, after collaborating with everyone from Tinie Tempah to Professor Green. Cheltenham-formed modern rock band The Duke Spirit, fronted by the indomitable Liela Moss, perform songs from their third album Bruiser, including current single Surrender. Young New Orleans trombonist Trombone Shorty and his funky band Orleans Avenue storm the studio with tunes from the Treme-raised frontman's latest album For True, which has been championed by the likes of Jeff Beck and Wynton Marsalis. The iconoclastic singer-songwriter Roy Harper finally returns to the BBC in his 70th anniversary year with a classic song or two from his new archival collection Songs of Love and Loss. And from Gothenburg, Sweden, Little Dragon make their show debut in their own right after guesting with Damon Albarn's Gorillaz, with songs from their acclaimed electro-tinged third album Ritual Union.

30 minutes

Last on

Tue 20 Sep 2011 22:00


Role Contributor
PresenterJools Holland
DirectorJanet Fraser Crook
Series ProducerAlison Howe

Later... playlist on BBC Music

JoolsHolland Playlist Autumn 2016 Promo

Hear the original versions of tracks performed on the show.