iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Lemminkainen Overture (1925) by Vaino Haapalainen
Image for The CBSO in Strauss, Dvorak and Brahms

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The CBSO in Strauss, Dvorak and Brahms

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Wednesday 28 September 2011

Live from the Symphony Hall, Birmingham.
Presented by Petroc Trelawny.

Tonight's concert begins with Richard Strauss's dazzling tone poem, conducted by the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra's Music Director, Andris Nelsons. Violinist Christian Tetzlaff joins them to perform Dvorak's Violin Concerto in A minor, a richly lyrical work and much-loved part of the violin repertoire. Brahms's sunny Second Symphony completes this popularly romantic programme.

Richard Strauss: Don Juan
Dvorak: Violin Concerto in A minor Op 53

8:25 Interval Music
Petroc Trelawny introduces recordings by tonight's soloist Christian Tetzlaff

Brahms: Symphony no 2 in D major Op 73

Christian Tetzlaff, violin
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons (conductor).


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss