Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 67 - Beethoven's Missa Solemnis

With John Shea

Sir Colin Davis tackles Beethoven's Missa Solemnis, the work which the composer considered to be his supreme achievement in music. The London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, and London Philharmonic Choir scale the heights and depths and they are joined by soloists, soprano Helena Juntunen, mezzo Sarah Connolly, tenor Paul Groves, and bass Matthew Rose.
The Missa Solemnis seems to skirt the boundaries of whether it is music made for the concert hall or the church. "My chief aim was to awaken and permanently instill religious feelings not only into the singers but also into the listeners," Beethoven himself wrote of the work.

Presented by Andrew McGregor

Beethoven: MIssa Solemnis

Helena Juntunen (soprano)
Sarah Connolly (mezzo-soprano)
Paul Groves (tenor)
Matthew Rose (bass)
London Symphony Chorus and London Philharmonic Choir
London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Colin Davis (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours

Last on

Tue 6 Sep 2011 14:30