iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Orchestral excerpts from Acts 1 & 3 of Hippolyte et Aricie by Jean-Philippe Rameau
Image for Elgar, M Berkeley

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

More episodes

See all episodes from BBC Proms

Elgar, M Berkeley

BBC Proms, 2011 Season, Prom 65 Episode 1 of 2

40 minutes
First broadcast:
Saturday 03 September 2011


Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Penny Gore

The BBC National Orchestra of Wales and Principal Guest Conductor Jac van Steen bring two dazzling concertos to the Proms. Canadian pianist Marc-André Hamelin displays his virtuosity in Rachmaninov's ever popular Rhapsody, and Proms featured organist David Goode plays Michael Berkeley's demanding concerto, which receives its London premiere. The programme includes two musical pictures: Elgar's Edwardian soundscape of Old London Town, and Kodály's suite Háry János, which brings to life the unlikely exploits of an old Hungarian hero.

Michael Berkeley had the cavernous space of Westminster cathedral in mind with his organ concerto, he was a choirboy there. A central theme is of fire, a force that cleanses and obliterates all in its path. The Royal Albert Hall, with its immense Henry Willis organ and generous acoustic should prove an ideal venue. A sense of ritual and religious theatre also comes from offstage trumpets, high in the gallery. Soloist David Goode has already delighted promenaders twice this season, in Janacek's Glagolitic Mass and Havergal Brian's Gothic Symphony. An exceptional talent, he remains undaunted by the challenges of the concerto.

Marc-André Hamelin has won great critical acclaim for his "jaw dropping technique" and "probing musicianship". He's been a tireless advocate of less familiar concertos, and he also is a composer. Here he brings his formidable talents to bear on a great favourite of the piano repertoire. Rachmaninov's Rhapsody is one of the most brilliant works for piano and orchestra, though with an underlying sense of devilry.

Elgar: Overture Cockaigne (In London Town)
Michael Berkeley: Organ Concerto (London premiere)

Marc-André Hamelin (piano)
David Goode (organ)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Jac van Steen (conductor)

This prom will be repeated on Monday 5 September at 2.00pm.

Music Played

2 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Sir Edward Elgar

    Sir Edward Elgar Cockaigne (In London town) - overture Op.40

    Conductor: Jac van Steen Performer: BBC National Orchestra of Wales

  • Image for Michael Berkeley

    Michael Berkeley Concerto for organ and orchestra

    Conductor: Jac van Steen Performer: David Goode - Organ Performer: BBC National Orchestra of Wales


Listen and Watch

BBC Proms 2013

Watch highlights and catch up on recent performances.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.