Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Webern, Bruch

BBC Proms, 2011 Season, Prom 62 Episode 1 of 2


Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Louise Fryer

The Israel Philharmonic Orchestra and its conductor-for-life Zubin Mehta bring a colourful programme to the Proms. They begin with an early score by Webern and are then joined by Gil Shaham for Bruch's ever-popular 1st Violin Concerto. They end their concert in Spain, seen through both native and Russian eyes.

The Israel Philharmonic is 75 years old this year and Bombay-born Zubin Mehta has been the orchestra's Music Director for the last 40 of those years. Their Prom programme reflects his wide musical interests, from the music of 20th-century Vienna (where he was educated) to colourful music that he has always conducted so well.

The concert's second half certainly falls into this category, with pieces by Albeniz describing scenes from his native Spain. They were originally written for piano and have now been given glittering orchestral colours. The sparkle continues with Rimsky-Korsakov's 'Spanish Caprice', based on Spanish folksong and with the orchestra evoking the sounds of guitars and rustic revelry.

Webern: Passacaglia, Op. 1
Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor

Gil Shaham (violin)
Israel Philharmonic Orchestra
Zubin Mehta (conductor)

We regret that as a result of sustained audience disruption within the concert hall which affected the ability to hear the music, the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra Prom was taken off air. The invitation to the Orchestra was a purely musical one, offering the opportunity to hear this fine Orchestra in conductor Zubin Metha's 75th year, so we are disappointed that BBC Radio 3 audiences were not able to enjoy the full performance. BBC Radio 3 broadcast recordings of the same music, however the performance continued in the hall. We will broadcast part of the concert next Wednesday 7 September at 2.30pm.

Throughout the concert approximately 30 people were removed by security which had been increased in anticipation of the prospect of disturbances.

Release date:

45 minutes

Last on

Thu 1 Sep 2011 19:30

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up