Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

PCM 07 - Fitkin, Gismonti/Carneiro, Rachmaninov


Live from Cadogan Hall, London

Presented by Catherine Bott

Yo-Yo Ma and Kathryn Stott play in a typically eclectic programme combining the old and the new. Graham Fitkin's L was composed in 2005 for Yo-Yo Ma's 50th birthday and today receives its London premiere. After a Brazilian interlude, this is followed by one of the most romantic works of the cello repertoire: Rachmaninov's Cello Sonata. Graham Fitkin's new Cello Concerto will be performed by Yo-Yo Ma in a Prom later this week.

Graham Fitkin: L (London Premiere)
Egberto Gismonti/Geraldo Carneiro: Bodas de prata and Quatro cantos
Rachmaninov: Cello Sonata in G minor

Yo-Yo Ma (cello)
Kathryn Stott (piano)

This Prom will be repeated on Saturday 3rd September at 2pm.

Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Sat 3 Sep 2011 14:00

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up