iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Prom 45 - Larcher, Bruckner

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 45 - Larcher, Bruckner

2 hours
First broadcast:
Sunday 21 August 2011


Introduced by Katie Derham from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Another chance to hear the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and principal guest conductor Ilan Volkov who are joined by Proms featured artists, Viktoria Mullova and Matthew Barley, in the world premiere performance of Thomas Larcher's new double concerto. The second half of the concert is dedicated to Bruckner's vast architectural masterpiece - his fifth symphony.

The leading Austrian composer Thomas Larcher's first double concerto is predominantly solemn and sacred but also very rhythmical. It utilises a concertino group as well as the two soloists to bring an added dimension of colour. The cellist Matthew Barley has helped Larcher incorporate improvisation and free time in the piece, building on aspects of rhythm, but Larcher says there is still a grounding in Mozart, Bach and Beethoven.

Ilan Volkov is a renowned interpreter of Bruckner's Music. The 5th Symphony is one of his longest symphonies and, arguably, his most complex work. A huge challenge to perform, it is also a Symphony which embodies a unique atmosphere of spiritual exaltation in a dramatic struggle to overcome the pain and frustration of life.

Thomas Larcher: Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra (BBC commission; world premiere)
Bruckner: Symphony No. 5 in B flat major (ed. Nowak)

Viktoria Mullova (violin)
Matthew Barley (cello)
Christof Dienz (electric zither)
Martin Brandlmayr (percussion)
Luka Juhart (accordian)
Thomas Larcher (prepared piano)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov (conductor).

Music Played

2 items
  • Image for Thomas Larcher

    Thomas Larcher Concerto for violin, cello and orchestra

    Conductor: Ilan Volkov Performer: Matthew Barley - Cello Performer: Viktoria Mullova - Violin Performer: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

  • Image for Anton Bruckner

    Anton Bruckner Symphony no. 5 in B flat major

    Conductor: Ilan Volkov Performer: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss