Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

PSM 02 - Maxwell Davies, Aperghis, Birtwistle


Live from the Cadogan Hall

Presented by Christopher Cook

A concert of contemporary musical encounters. The new piano concerto by Greek-born French composer Georges Aperghis takes its inspiration from the technique of filming dialogue with shot and reverse shot, while Harrison Birtwistle vividly retells the Biblical story of Jacob wrestling with the Angel. Meanwhile, Peter Maxwell Davies reflects on a sonnet by Michelangelo in a work specially composed for the BBC Singers.

David Atherton conducts the London Sinfonietta and BBC Singers with Nicolas Hodges, a pianist who excels in cutting-edge contemporary music. Andrew West and Jeffrey Lloyd-Roberts take the challenging parts of Jacob and the Angel.

Sir Peter Maxwell Davies: Il rozzo martello
Georges Aperghis: Champ-Contrechamp (BBC Commission; World Premiere)
Sir Harrison Birtwistle: Angel Fighter (UK premiere)

Jeffrey Lloyd-Roberts (tenor)
Andrew Watts (Counter tenor)
Nicolas Hodges (Piano)
BBC Singers
London Sinfonietta
David Atherton (conductor).

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sat 20 Aug 2011 15:00

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up