Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Prom 43 - Copland, Bax, Barber, Bartok, Prokofiev

With Louise Fryer

Andrew Litton and the RPO perform a programme by composers who have something, or someone, in common: Boston Symphony Orchestra conductor Serge Koussevitzky. Copland's Fanfare was later incorporated into his Third Symphony, written for the Koussevitzky Music Foundation, which also commissioned Bartók at a time when he found himself in grave financial difficulty. Yuja Wang makes her Proms debut in his fiendishly difficult Concerto No 2. Koussevitzky also championed Barber's music in the 1940s, and the original version of Prokofiev's Fourth Symphony was commissioned for the BSO's 50th anniversary and premiered under him.

Presented by Martin Handley

Copland: Fanfare for the Common Man
Bax: Symphony No. 2
Barber: Adagio for Strings
Bartok: Piano Concerto No. 2
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 4 (revised version, 1947)

Yuja Wang (piano)
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Andrew Litton (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 15 minutes

Last on

Thu 18 Aug 2011 14:15