Image for Prokofiev

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

More episodes

See all episodes from BBC Proms


BBC Proms, 2011 Season, Prom 43 Episode 3 of 3

1 hour, 10 minutes
First broadcast:
Tuesday 16 August 2011


Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Martin Handley

Andrew Litton and the RPO perform a programme by composers who have something, or someone, in common: Boston Symphony Orchestra conductor Serge Koussevitzky. Copland's Fanfare was later incorporated into his Third Symphony, written for the Koussevitzky Music Foundation, which also commissioned Bartók at a time when he found himself in grave financial difficulty. Tonight, Yuja Wang makes her Proms debut in his fiendishly difficult Concerto No 2. Koussevitzky also championed Barber's music in the 1940s, and the original version of Prokofiev's Fourth Symphony was commissioned for the BSO's 50th anniversary and premiered under him.

Prokofiev: Symphony No. 4 (revised version, 1947)

Yuja Wang (piano)
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Andrew Litton (conductor)

This prom will be repeated on Thursday 18th August at 2.15pm.

Music Played

1 item
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes


Listen and Watch

BBC Proms 2013

Watch highlights and catch up on recent performances.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.