Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Barber, Bartok

BBC Proms, 2011, Prom 43 Episode 2 of 3


Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Martin Handley

Andrew Litton and the RPO perform a programme by composers who have something, or someone, in common: Boston Symphony Orchestra conductor Serge Koussevitzky. Copland's Fanfare was later incorporated into his Third Symphony, written for the Koussevitzky Music Foundation, which also commissioned Bartók at a time when he found himself in grave financial difficulty. Tonight, Yuja Wang makes her Proms debut in his fiendishly difficult Concerto No 2. Koussevitzky also championed Barber's music in the 1940s, and the original version of Prokofiev's Fourth Symphony was commissioned for the BSO's 50th anniversary and premiered under him.

Barber: Adagio for Strings
Bartok: Piano Concerto No. 2

Yuja Wang (piano)
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Andrew Litton (conductor)

This prom will be repeated on Thursday 18th August at 2.15pm.

Release date:

50 minutes

Last on

Tue 16 Aug 2011 20:10

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen to every Prom on Radio 3

Listen live or catch up