Playing: Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95 'From the New World' by Antonin Dvorak
Image for 05/08/2011

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Friday 05 August 2011

Jonathan Swain presents the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra performing Bach Cantatas

1:01 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Sinfonia from Cantata no.21 BWV.21 "Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis"
Annkathrin Brüggemann (oboe); Freiburg Baroque Orchestra; Petra Müllejans (conductor)

1:05 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Cantata no.82 BWV.82 ""Ich habe genug""
Johannes Weisser (bass); Annkathrin Brüggemann (oboe); Freiburg Baroque Orchestra; Petra Müllejans (conductor)

1:29 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Fantasia in C minor from BWV.562
Freiburg Baroque Orchestra; Petra Müllejans (conductor)

1:35 AM
Goldberg, Johann Gottlieb (1727-1756)
Sonata a 4 in C minor
Freiburg Baroque Orchestra; Petra Müllejans (conductor)

1:48 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Concerto for oboe, violin & strings BWV.1060 in D minor
Annkathrin Brüggemann (oboe); Freiburg Baroque Orchestra; Petra Müllejans (violin/conductor)

2:02 AM
Zelenka, Jan Dismas (1679-1745)
Lamentationes Jeremiae prophetae ZWV.53 - 1st lamentation for Holy Saturday
Johannes Weisser (bass); Freiburg Baroque Orchestra; Petra Müllejans (conductor)

2:14 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Aria: Mache dich, meine Herze from St Matthew Passion BWV.244
Johannes Weisser (bass); Freiburg Baroque Orchestra; Petra Müllejans (conductor)

2:21 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Quintet in E flat major for piano, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon (K.452)
Leif Ove Andsnes (piano), Kari Krikku (clarinet), Albrecht Meyer (oboe), Jonathan Williams (horn), Per Hannisdal (bassoon)

2:45 AM
Pachelbel, Johann (1653-1706) [text: Psalm 93]
Der Herr ist König (und herrlich geschmückt) - motet for double chorus & bc
Cantus Cölln , Christoph Anselm Noll (organ), Konrad Junghänel (director)
2:49 AM
Grieg, Edvard (1843-1907)
Triumphal March from 'Sigurd Jorsalfar'
Danish Radio Concert Orchestra, Roman Zeilinger (conductor)

3:01 AM
Ferrabosco, Alfonso (c.1578-1628)
Pavan and Fantasie
Nigel North (lute)

3:08 AM
Rautavaara, Einojuhani (b. 1928)
Three sonnets by Shakespeare
Taru Valjakka (soprano), Jari Salmela (piano)

3:15 AM
Berlioz, Hector (1803-1869)
Roméo et Juliette - symphonie dramatique (Op.17) [orchestral movements only]
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Gianandrea Noseda (conductor)

4:09 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Capriccio for keyboard (BWV.993) in E major "In honorem Joh. Christoph. Bachii"
Mahan Esfahani (harpsichord)

4:15 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
String Quartet in D major (K.155)
Australian String Quartet

4:25 AM
Gabrieli, Giovanni (c.1553-1612)
Canzon Prima a 5
Canadian Brass

4:28 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Oboe Concerto in C Major (Hob.VIIg:C1)
Bozo Rogelja (oboe), Slovenian Radio & Television Symphony Orchestra, Samo Hubad (conductor)

4:52 AM
Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957)
Sonatina No.1 in F sharp minor (Op.67)
Eero Heinonen (piano)

5:01 AM
Howells, Herbert (1892-1983)
Here is the Little Door - from Three Carol-Anthems
Vancouver Bach Choir, Bruce Pullan (conductor)

5:04 AM
Röntgen, Julius (1855-1932)
Theme with Variations
Wyneke Jordans and Leo van Doeselaar (pianos)

5:15 AM
Glinka, Mikhail Ivanovich (1804-1857)
Ivan Susanin: overture
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ondrej Lenard (conductor)

5:25 AM
Parac, Ivo (1890-1954)
Andante amoroso for string quartet
Zagreb Quartet

5:32 AM
Vivaldi, Antonio (1678-1741)
Concerto for 2 trumpets and orchestra in C major (RV.537)
Toni Grcar and Stanko Arnold (trumpets), Slovenian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, Marko Munih (conductor)

5:39 AM
Rota, Nino (1911-1979)
Trio for clarinet, bassoon (orig cello) and piano

5:56 AM
Janácek, Leos (1854-1928)
Taras Bulba
The Ukrainian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Volodymyr Sirenko (conductor)

6:20 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Organ Concerto No. 1 (Op.4 No.1) (HWV 289)
Concerto Copenhagen, Lars Ulrik Mortensen (organ/director)

6:35 AM
Strauss, Richard (1864-1949)
Suite in B flat major (Op.4)
I Solisti del Vento, Etienne Siebens (conductor.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss