Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

With Penny Gore.

A Czech programme featuring Dvorak's Cello Concerto and the six symphonic poems of Má vlast by Smetana.

Dvorák's Cello Concerto is full of melody and heartfelt sentiment, to which French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras brings both youthful urgency and intimacy to his performance. The work is widely regarded as the finest concerto ever written for the instrument. Nostalgia turns to nationalism with Smetana's Má vlast - a glorious musical touchstone for 'the resurrection of the Czech nation, its future happiness and glory'. Tom Service presents.

Dvorák: Cello Concerto in B minor
Smetana: Má vlast

Jean-Guihen Queyras (cello)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Jiri Belohlávek (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 22 Jul 2011 14:00