Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Live from Wigmore Hall in London. The renowned Canadian pianist, Angela Hewitt, gives a recital of keyboard works by Bach and Chopin. She couples two of Bach's French Suites, which are full of idealized dances, with works by Chopin that are based round his music used in the ballet Les Sylphides.

Angela Hewitt, who used to dance in Les Sylphides with the original choreography, has chosen to play the Chopin pieces in the same sequence as the ballet.

Presented by Fiona Talkington

Angela Hewitt - piano

French Suite No. 2 in C minor
French Suite No. 3 in B minor
Nocturne in A Flat Major, Op. 32, No. 2
Waltz in G Flat Major, Op. 70, No. 1
Mazurka in D Major, Op. 33, No. 2
Mazurka in C Major, Op. 67, No. 3
Prelude in A Major, Op. 28, No. 7
Waltz in C sharp minor, Op. 64, No. 2
Grande Valse Brillante in E Flat Major, Op. 18.

Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Sat 11 Jun 2011 14:00