On Now : In Tune
Playing: Prelude in C sharp minor, Op.3 No.2 by Sergey Vasilievich Rachmaninov
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Total Immersion: Peter Eotvos

Robert Worby presents a concert given earlier today at the BBC Symphony Orchestra's Total Immersion day devoted to the music of Peter Eötvös

Zero Points
IMA (Prayer)
Miklós Lukács (cimbalom)
Richard Hosford and John Bradbury (clarinets)
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
BBC Singers & BBC Symphony Chorus conducted by Peter Eötvös

Peter Eötvös is a composer who creates dazzling new sonorities, inventing astonishing combinations of instrumental and electronic textures and drawing listeners deep into the tonal fabric of his works. IMA, which portrays the biblical act of creation, is a sequel to Atlantis and is Eötvös's biggest choral work to date, employing the forces of a choir of solo singers and a main choir. Fragments of pieces written during his time as a student in Budapest in the early 1960s, meanwhile, supply an autobiographical flavour to Psychokosmos for cimbalom (a dulcimer used in Eastern European folk music) and "traditional" orchestra.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sat 14 May 2011 22:30
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss