Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra - Janacek, Tchaikovsky

Live from the Lighthouse, Poole.

Presented by Martin Handley.

The Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra is led by its Principal Conductor Kiril Karabits in music with connections to his homeland, Ukraine. Janacek's stirring rhapsody, Taras Bulba, is based on episodes from Gogol's story of a Cossack family going to war against Poland, with military music to the fore. Tchaikovsky spent many summers with his sister's family in Ukraine (or 'Little Russia' as it was known to Russians then), and some of the folksongs he heard there can be found in both his hugely popular Piano Concerto no.1 and his Second Symphony.

Janacek: Taras Bulba
Tchaikovsky: Piano concerto no.1

8.30 Interval Music

8.50 Part 2

Tchaikovsky: Symphony no.2 'Little Russian'

Kirill Gerstein (piano)
Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
conductor Kirill Karabits.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 11 May 2011 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.