Playing: Violin Concerto in D (Op. 35) by Erich Wolfgang Korngold
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Diaghilev Ballets

Presented by Catherine Bott

The CBSO celebrates the creative energies of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballet Russes with two brilliant ballet scores. Diaghilev brought together some of the most influential artists of the early twentieth-century, including Stravinsky, Picasso, Matisse and Nijinsky. Tonight the orchestra features music by Stravinsky and Ravel.

Stravinsky's Petrushka, premiered in 1911, tells a fantastic story of love and death amidst the marionettes at a Russian spring fair; Ravel's Daphnis et ChloƩ, premiered a year later, meanwhile, is a love story of Ancient Greece relating the love between a goatherd and a shepherdess, set to some of the most sensuous music ever written for the stage.

Stravinsky: Petrushka
Ravel: Daphnis et Chloe

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
CBSO Chorus
conductor Andris Nelsons

Followed by a selection of music for Holy Week, including:

Biber: Rosary Sonata no.6: 'The Agony in the Garden'
Andrew Manze (violin)
Richard Egarr (organ).

2 hours, 15 minutes

Last on

Mon 18 Apr 2011 19:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss