iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Episode 4

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

More episodes

See all episodes from Afternoon on 3

Episode 4

Afternoon on 3, Czech Music Episode 4 of 4

3 hours
First broadcast:
Friday 01 April 2011

The conclusion of Mozart's Cosi fan tutte if followed by the final part of our mini-festival of music-making from the Czech Republic. There's a late quartet by Dvorak and the moving conclusion of one of Janacek's greatest operas. Between them comes more 'late' music by a composer whose origins are as Bohemian as Dvorak - Gustav Mahler.

Mozart: Cosi fan tutte

Act II

Fiordiligi, lady from Ferrara, sister of Dorabella ..... Caroline Wenborne, soprano
Dorabella, lady from Ferrara, sister of Fiordiligi ..... Stephanie Houtzeel, mezzo-soprano
Guglielmo, lover of Fiordiligi, a soldier ..... Ildebrando d'Arcangelo, baritone
Ferrando, lover of Dorabella, a soldier ..... Topi Lehtipuu, tenor
Despina, a maid ..... Anita Hartig, soprano
Don Alfonso, an old philosopher ..... Alessandro Corbelli, bass

Vienna State Opera Chorus
Vienna State Opera Orchestra
Jeremie Rhorer, conductor

Dvorak: String Quartet No. 13 in G, op. 106
Skampa Quartet

Mahler: Adagio from Symphony No.10
Czech Philharmonic
Jiri Belohlavek (conductor)

Janacek: Finale of 'The Cunning Little Vixen'
Ivan Kusnjer (baritone, Forester), Klara Nohalova (Frog, member of the Kuhn Children's Choir)
Czech Philharmonic
Sir John Eliot Gardiner (conductor)

Smetana: Blanik from Ma Vlast
Czech Philharmonic
Charles mackerras (Conductor).


Music and The Great War on BBC Playlister


Explore the story of World War One through the music of the time with BBC Playlister.

Free download

  1. Image for Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Guide to the Opera

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss