iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : Music Matters
Riga - European Capital of Culture 2014
Image for Philharmonia - Wagner, Liszt, Brahms

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Philharmonia - Wagner, Liszt, Brahms

2 hours, 15 minutes
First broadcast:
Tuesday 15 March 2011

Presented by Catherine Bott.

The Philharmonia Orchestra performs a dramatic programme of key works by three great German Romantic composers, Wagner, Liszt and Brahms.
Brahms revered Beethoven and this admiration weighed so heavily on him that he struggled for decades with the idea of writing a symphony. Brahms himself declared that his First Symphony, from sketches to finishing touches, took 21 years to write (from 1855 to 1876). But although only politely received at its premiere it was soon being nicknamed 'Beethoven's Tenth'. Liszt's Second Piano Concerto had a similarly prolonged gestation, from 1839 to 1861. Cast in a single movement it is based on a single theme that is transformed throughout and assumes many varied characters.

Wagner Overture, The Flying Dutchman
Liszt Piano Concerto No. 2
Brahms Symphony No. 1

Marc-André Hamelin, piano
Philharmonia Orchestra
Tomás Netopil, conductor

Followed by Piotr Anderszewski playing
Bach's English Suite no.5.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss