iPlayer Radio What's New?

About the BBC New Comedy Award

All you need to know about the BBC New Comedy Award

The BBC Radio New Comedy Award is a nationwide talent search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent.

The BBC New Comedy Award ran on BBC One from 1995 - 2003, with the final held in Edinburgh every year. In 2003 - 2005 it ran as a radio event on BBC Radio 4 Extra (formerly BBC Radio 7) and was replaced in 2005 with Show Me The Funny, which placed emphasis on the search for sketch writers. In 2011, BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio Comedy revived the award, putting the spotlight back on seeking out the best new stand-up comedy talent with a new format and, for the first time, including audience interactivity.

Previous finalists include Alan Carr, Peter Kay, Lee Mack, Julian Barratt, Marcus Brigstocke, Russell Howard, Rhod Gilbert, David O’Doherty, and Shappi Khorsandi. The 2011 final was won by Angela Barnes who performed alongside Chris Turner, Mark Restuccia, Tez Ilyas, Pat Cahill and Joe Lycett. In 2012, another hotly contested final saw Lucy Beaumont voted winner in a line-up that featured Matt Rees, Sunil Patel, Tommy Rowson, Pete Otway and Matt Winning.

More from the BBC New Comedy Award

Tickets Tickets

Come and see our comedians in action!

Videos Videos

Advice, performances and interviews for you to watch and enjoy

Galleries Galleries

Check out our photos from the road

Blog Blog

The latest from the BBC Radio New Comedy Award blog

Interviews Interviews

Catch up with the faces made famous by the BBC New Comedy Award

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.