iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Episode 2

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 2

1 hour
First broadcast:
Wednesday 09 February 2011

The Pavel Haas Quartet are named after a young Czech composer who was interned by the Nazis in the the infamous "Theresienstadt" concentration camp. The Pavel Haas Quartet took part in the BBC's New Generation Artist Scheme and are now based in Prague, from where they are much in demand worldwide, and they have built a reputation for the highest level of quartet playing.

Last November the quartet played four concerts at LSO St. Luke's in London, and this concert features two works by Beethoven. His C minor Trio and the first of the Op.59 set dedicated to Count Razumovsky, the Russian Ambassador in the Viennese Court in 1806 - a wealthy patron who commissioned these three quartets from Beethoven.

The quartet members are: violinists Veronika Jaruskova & Eva Karova, viola player Pavel Nikl and cellist Krzystof Jarusek

The performances are presented by Penny Gore.

Trio in C minor (Op.9)
Quartet in F major (Op.59, No.1) "Razumovsky".


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss