iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Pictures at an Exhibition by Mussorgsky orch. Ravel
Image for 03/02/2011

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


6 hours
First broadcast:
Thursday 03 February 2011

Jonathan Swain presents a concert given by the French Radio Philharmonic Orchestra.
1:01 AM
Schumann, Robert [(1810-1856)]
Overture, Scherzo and finale (Op. 52)
French Radio Philharmonic Orchestra., François-Xavier Roth (conductor)

1:19 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Rhapsody for contralto, male chorus & orchestra (Op.53)
Nathalie Stutzmann (contralto), Radio France Chorus (men), French Radio Philharmonic Orchestra., François-Xavier Roth (conductor)

1:32 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Gesang der Parzen for chorus and orchestra (Op.89)
Radio France Chorus, French Radio Philharmonic Orchestra., François-Xavier Roth (conductor)

1:44 AM
Zemlinsky, Alexander von [1871-1942]
Sinfonietta (Op.23)
French Radio Philharmonic Orchestra., François-Xavier Roth (conductor)

2:04 AM
Ravel, Maurice (1875-1937)
Gaspard de la nuit for piano
Cédric Tiberghien (piano)

2:30 AM
Spohr, Louis (1784-1859)
Nonet for wind quintet, string trio and double bass in F major (Op.31)
Budapest Chamber Ensemble, András Mihaly (conductor)

3:01 AM
Salieri, Antonio [1750-1825]
Concerto for Organ and Orchestra in C major
Ivan Sarajishvili (organ) Brussels Chamber Orchestra, (members of) Stavanger Symphony Orchestra

3:18 AM
Dvorák, Antonín (1841-1904)
Trio in E minor, 'Dumky' (Op.90)
Trio Lorenz: Primoz Lorenz (piano), Tomaz Lorenz (violin), Matija Lorenz (cello)

3:53 AM
Weiss, Silvius Leopold (1686-1750)
Suite in D minor
Konrad Junghänel (13 string Baroque lute by Nico van der Waals, made in 1976)

4:10 AM
Lebedjew, Alexej (1924-1993)
Concerto in one movement (Concerto No.1) in A minor for bass trombone and piano
Csaba Wagner (trombone), Katalin Sarkady (piano)

4:17 AM
Vivaldi, Antonio (1678-1741)
Nulla in mundo pax sincera for soprano and orchestra (RV.630)
Emma Kirkby (soprano), Academy of Ancient Music, Andrew Manze (director) (Encore)

4:25 AM
Schubert, Franz (1797-1828)
Waltzes for piano (D.969) 'Valses nobles'
Arthur Schnabel (1882-1951)

4:33 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Concerto for 2 violins in D minor (BWV.1043)
Espen Lilleslatten & Renata Arado (violins), Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Ivor Bolton (conductor)

4:49 AM
Weber, Carl Maria von (1786-1826)
Clarinet Concertino in E flat major (Op.26)
Hannes Altrov (clarinet), Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Paul Mägi (conductor)

5:01 AM
Suppé, Franz von (1819-1895)
Overture - from The Light Cavalry
Slovenian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, Marko Munih (conductor)

5:09 AM
Chopin, Frédéric (1810-1849)
Rondo in C minor, Op.1 (Allegro)
Ludmil Angelov (piano)

5:18 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Fürchte dich nicht, ich bin bei dir (BWV.228)
Tafelmusik Chamber Choir, Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra, Ivars Taurins (conductor)

5:26 AM
Kodály, Zoltán (1882-1967)
Adagio for violin & piano
Tamás Major (violin), Zoltán Kocsis (piano)
5:35 AM
Schubert, Franz (1797-1828)
Der Hirt auf dem Felsen (Op.129)
Barbara Hendricks (soprano), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano), Martin Fröst (clarinet)

5:47 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897) arranged for orchestra by Dvorák, Antonín (1841-1904)
5 Hungarian Dances - Nos. 17 in F# minor; 18 in D major; 19 in B minor; 20 in E minor; 21 in E minor
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Eivind Aadland (conductor)

5:59 AM
Thomas, John (1826-1913)
Grand Duet for two harps in E flat minor
Myong-ja Kwan (female), Hyon-son La (female) (harps)

6:14 AM
Sjögren, Emil (1853-1918)
Cello Sonata in A major (Op.58) (1912)
Mats Rondin (cello), Bengt Forsberg (piano)

6:31 AM
Suk, Josef (1874-1935)
Raduz and Mahulena (Op.16), 'A fairy tale suite'
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Václav Smetácek (conductor).


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss