Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

London Philharmonic - Eotvos, Liszt, Zemlinsky

Presented by Catherine Bott

Vladimir Jurowski conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra in music by Eötvös, Liszt's Piano Concerto No 2 with Alexander Markovich, and Zemlinsky's Lyric Symphony.
With Liszt's thunderous piano concertos the age of the virtuoso was born, a fusion of Beethoven's single-mindedness and Paganini's breathtaking virtuosity. Zemlinsky's setting of Hindu poetry by Rabindranath Tagore is an alluring, mysterious masterpiece of late Romanticism in which soprano and baritone drape alternate verses over a kaleidoscopic orchestra.

Peter Eötvös: Shadows (UK premiere of the orchestral version)
Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 2
Zemlinsky: Lyric Symphony

London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski conductor
Alexander Markovich piano
Melanie Diener soprano
Thomas Hampson baritone

Followed by Beethoven played by the Artemis Quartet.

Release date:

2 hours, 15 minutes

Last on

Tue 1 Feb 2011 19:00