Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Kodaly, Copland

Live from the Ulster Hall, Belfast

Presented by Martin Handley

Kodály devoted much time to collecting and arranging folk music of his native Hungary and in his Marosszék Dances he uses tunes collected in Szekely region of the country to give the work its colour. The local colour in Aaron Copland's Clarinet Concerto isn't folk but jazz which infuses the work's second movement.

After the interval the American conductor puts the orchestra through their paces as they perform in the classical contours of Brahms's mighty 2nd Symphony.

Kodály: Marosszék Dances
Copland: Clarinet Concerto

Robert Plane (clarinet)
Ulster Orchestra
JoAnn Falletta (conductor).

Release date:

35 minutes

Last on

Tue 25 Jan 2011 19:00