On Now : Afternoon on 3
Playing: Symphony no. 41 in C major K.551 (Jupiter) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Nash Ensemble - Beethoven, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky

Presented by Martin Handley.

From the Wigmore Hall in London, the Nash Ensemble with a recital full of Russian flavour, which starts however with Beethoven's Ghost trio - featuring its eerie second movement. Then, Shostakovich's Seven Romances on Poems of Alexander Blok, which he wrote for Galina Vishnevskaya - performed here by Susan Griton. Next comes a not-often performed set of apprentice pieces by Tchaikovsky, followed by the last work: Shostakovich's Piano Quintent in G minor, one of his best loved chamber compositions.

Presented by Martin Handley.

BEETHOVEN: Piano Trio in D, Op. 70 No. 1 'Ghost'
SHOSTAKOVICH: Seven Romances on Poems of Alexander Blok, Op. 127
TCHAIKOVSKY: Student Pieces for piano, harp and strings
SHOSTAVKOVICH: Piano Quintet in G minor Op. 57

Susan Gritton, soprano
Nash Ensemble.

2 hours

Last on

Thu 20 Jan 2011 19:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss