Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Nikolai Lugansky

A piano recital given this month by Russian star Nikolai Lugansky at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London, part of the South Bank Centre International Piano Series 2011. The programme is a contrasting tour de force of Romantic virtuosic frenzy with music by Chopin and some of Liszt's more technically challenging Etudes, combined together with a pause for introspection with Brahms' Six Pieces for Piano.

Presented by Martin Handley.

Fryderyk Chopin: Nocturne in F, Op.15 No.1
Fryderyk Chopin: Fantasia in F minor, Op.49
Fryderyk Chopin: Prelude in C sharp minor, Op.45
Fryderyk Chopin: Scherzo No.4 in E, Op.54
Fryderyk Chopin: Nocturne in D flat, Op.27 No.2
Fryderyk Chopin: Polonaise in A flat, Op.53
Johannes Brahms: 6 Pieces for piano, Op.118
Franz Liszt: Spozalizio (Années de pèlerinage)
Franz Liszt: Etude d'execution transcendante, S.139 No.12 in B flat minor (Chasse-neige)
Franz Liszt: Etude d'execution transcendante, S.139 No.11 in D flat (Harmonies du soir)
Franz Liszt: Etude d'execution transcendante, S.139 No.10 in F minor (Allegro agitato molto)

Nikolai Lugansky, piano

Followed by a look forward to tomorrow's BBC Symphony Orchestra concert.

2 hours, 15 minutes

Last on

Mon 17 Jan 2011 19:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss