Playing: Grand Duo Concertant for clarinet & piano (Op.48) (in three movements) by Carl Maria von Weber
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Our lunchtime exploration of Mozart's Concertos continues with the first in a series of three concerts from Studio 7 in Manchester. The BBC Philharmonic is joined by New Generation Artist Francesco Piemontesi for one of the six piano concertos Mozart wrote in 1784, his annus mirabilis for composing this series of works. He also plays one of the set of Sonatas written in Munich a decade earlier and this live broadcast begins with a dark masterpiece, the Adagio and Fugue in C minor, for strings.

Adagio and fugue in C minor (K546)
Piano Sonata in E flat (K282)
Piano Concerto No. 17 in G (K453)

BBC Philharmonic
Antonello Manacorda (conductor)
Francesco Piemotesi (piano).

1 hour

Last on

Tue 4 Jan 2011 13:00
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss